Patchwork Blanket Part

So for my blanket I started making in my very first post, I had decided that I was going to make this blanket out of leftover yarn I had.

So, I grabbed some leftover Moda Dea Tweedle Dee Shaded Effect Yarn that I had left over from making my friend a bag, of which I still have another whole ball of it, and make it into a square for my blanket. And I used a “K” hook (6.5 mm).

Here’s what I made:

I got the idea from seeing this: Diagon Cowl

I think I may have also seen something like this in a book I have about crochet motifs. But, I didn’t follow a pattern. In fact, when I first started this, I was using single crochet instead of double crochet, and the holes were just not defined enough, so I switched to double crochet. It worked a lot better. The holes are three stitches wide. And, after I was about three-fourths of the way done, I had thought I should go back and have one less stitch so the border would be the same on both sides, but I was too lazy. Plus, the finished blanket will be all different anyway, so why does it matter if the border isn’t the same on both sides? This piece will just add to the charm of the finished patchwork blanket.

This entry was posted in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment