2012 Special Olympics Scarf Project

The other day I found out about the Special Olympics USA Scarf Project, I think from Crochetville. So I went to the official web site, Special Olympics USA Scarf Project, to learn more about it.

The site said that you needed to use either Red Heart Super Saver colors Cherry Red and Soft Navy, or Red Heart Soft colors Really Red and Navy. And there were only really two conditions for your scarves: they need to be about six inches wide by fifty-four to sixty inches long as well as use either both of the Super Saver colors or the Soft colors.

You can knit or crochet the scarves and they can be made from any pattern (or no pattern at all..) as long as they are within the guidelines. To send the scarves to a program, you can find the programs, their scarf goal, and their adresses at Project Guidelines. When you send the scarves you just need to put each one in it’s own zip lock bag along with a three by five index card with your name, email address, and mailing address inside the shipping box.

The scarves that are sent in are given to athletes, coaches, volunteers, and families that attend the USA Special Olympics.

On Tuesday, I picked up one skein of each Super Saver color and got to work. Yesterday, I finished my second scarf. Here they are:

The top scarf is crocheted with the two yarns held together with a P (10 mm) hook. The other is a series of granny squares bordered by single crochet in the blue. The granny squares follow a pattern. The first square is a solid red square followed by a blue inside with red as the last row. After that there is a red inside and two blue rows. And the bottom scarf is crocheted with an I (5.5 mm) hook.

I have enough yarn left to make one more scarf, and I was trying yesterday to make the year (2012) go into my scarf. But, I could not get it to look good, so I ripped it all out. I think next I might try something with ridges. And, like I mentioned earlier in this post, I haven’t really followed any patterns, I just tried to make what I was thinking about. But I did look up how to crochet numbers, just to come up with a diagram for the numbers, but again, I didn’t like how it turned out, so I undid what I had crocheted.

What have you done for the Scarf Project? Plan on doing something for it now?

This entry was posted in Charity, Crochet, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Special Olympics Scarf Project

  1. What a great charity to participate in with your crochet hooks.

    Followed you from the Crochetville blog post.

Leave a Reply

